From formal black-tie affairs to renewing vows the bright lights of the iconic Strip, Las Vegas performs more weddings than anywhere else. With more than 150 marriages per day, Las Vegas is still the “Marriage Capital of the World.”
But what do you need to do to get hitched? Below are the requirements as well as how to obtain the golden ticket, aka a marriage license.
Neither blood tests nor waiting periods are required if you want to tie the knot. The legal age is 18 for both men and women (proof of age is required) and licensing fees are $77 (credit or debit only).
For marriage license information, visit the Clark County Marriage License Bureau or call 702-671-0600, 201 Clark Avenue (located on the northwest corner of Clark Avenue and Third Street). Marriage License Bureau hours are 8 a.m. to midnight, including holidays.
Civil ceremonies can be performed at The Office of Civil Marriages at 330 S. Third Street, 6th Floor, Suite 660. Chapel fees vary depending on the services provided. In addition, Las Vegas has many lovely commercial wedding chapels, hotels, resorts and other venues from which to choose.
You can get married in Vegas even if you’re not a U.S. resident. Your Las Vegas wedding is a legal marriage recognized around the world! Most countries require a certified copy of your marriage certificate ($20) and an apostille from the Nevada Secretary of State ($20). If required, a certified copy of your marriage license can be obtained as well ($6.50). Contact your home country’s consulate office located in the U.S. to inquire if additional certifications are required.
Here are other important things to remember from the Clark County Clerk’s Office:
- Ceremony MUST be performed in Nevada by an officiant licensed in Nevada.
- Marriage license and ID MUST be given to the person performing the ceremony.
- Someone other than the officiant MUST witness you saying your vows (if you don’t have one, one will be provided).
- Your marriage license is valid for one year.
So, now you’re ready to say your vows and show the world you’re married! Congratulations on your nuptials.
Las Vegas Wedding FAQ
What do you need to get married in Las Vegas? What paperwork do I need to get married in Las Vegas?
For a full list of marriage license requirements, applicable fees, and a link to the online marriage license application, click here.
Can you just walk into a chapel in Vegas and get married?
Yes, many chapels in Las Vegas allow walk-ins, but they will also allow you to book in advance. Some specialty dates like 10/10/2020 fill up very early, so plan accordingly. Whichever you choose, we make it easy so you can focus on fun.
Can you get a marriage license and get married the same day in Las Vegas?
Yes, you can receive your marriage license and get married the same day in Las Vegas. Click here to see the requirements for obtaining a marriage license. Nevada has no blood test or waiting period. The Marriage License Bureau is open from 8 a.m. to midnight, 365 days per year and does not take appointments. Walk in at your convenience!
Are Las Vegas weddings legally binding?
Marriages in Las Vegas are legally binding throughout the U.S. and in most countries around the world. States and countries each have their own laws. In Nevada, both parties must present valid IDs to the county clerk who will issue the marriage license. Papers in hand, the couple must verbally commit to each other in front of a licensed marriage officiant, judge or justice of the peace and a witness. The person conducting the ceremony must file the marriage certificate with the county clerk within 10 days. Immediately after the certificate is filed, you may order a certified copy to use as proof of marriage. Some officiants will file the certificate the same day so that you may obtain a certified copy of the marriage certificate before you leave Las Vegas. Ask about this service if you need your certificate immediately. To order, go to: https://mlic.vegas.
Alternatively, couples who do not wish to have a legal ceremony may opt to have a commitment or a vow renewal ceremony. In these types of ceremonies, a couple publicly declares their commitment to each other without getting legally married. No license is required although the Marriage License Bureau does offer a Vow Renewal Certificate. If participating in a commitment ceremony or vow renewal, you may be asked to sign a waiver stating that you understand that the ceremony is not recognized by the government and, thus, is not legally binding.